Valvrave the Liberator – my thoughts

All the screenshots here are L-elf 😉

0405

I found this anime by, well, accident. I can’t remember why I ended up watching this series but it actually took a long time for me to finish the entire series. The main reason I stuck with the series was L-elf. Level-headed characters usually attract me to a series.

I really had to push myself to finish the series because it would be a waste that I wasted some of my time already by watching the first five episodes.

So Why was I not impressed with the series?

0102

First, was the protagonist. The MAIN main protagonist, Haruto. His character really irritates me; the indecisiveness just ticks me off. The only character that I tolerated for the similar behavior was Kira Yamato (I bought the DVDs of Gundam Seed and Gundam Seed Destiny) because he was at least a little bit “cool.”

Another reason that I stayed with the series was the second season’s songs, Kakumei Dualism by Nana Mizuki x TM Revolution and Realism by ELiSA. I normally skip these songs because I want to get on with the story but here, I play the songs so that I am motivated to watch the episodes.

I was not immediately sold with the series because of how it had to much Code Geass feel around it (both series have the same writer) and a mix of Gundam Seed. Although I have watched and re-watched both shows several times already (thank you DVDs!), I still find entertainment. What I like about Valvrave though is that it does not beat around the bush and does not tone down the deaths of many of its characters.

What interests me though was what happens after the war and the current time of the Third Prince. I would have wanted the gap filled in the anime but it was filled through the manga, Kakumei Valvrave: Ryuusei no Otome in the POV of Rukino.

Anyhow, for me Valvrave the Liberator is an anime that you’ll either love or hate or be indifferent about. Personally, I think I’m in the third category. I doubt that I’ll re-watch this series in the future.

Let me end this post with this lovely screen-capture:

03😛

All the screenshots were taken by me.

Leave a Reply

