A toast to new beginnings

A very cliche title but fitting to my situation. I have graduated from my undergraduate program six months ago and it has been six months since I started law school. My decision to take up Juris Doctor was a long one. I was planning on either an MA in Psychology or Medical School but I chose Law because it’s more affordable than med school. I am pushing back my MA studies until I graduate the JD program.
I may not have yet the right to give advices since I have not finished my first year. Therefore, this post is dedicated to the problems I encountered.
1. Financial juggling – The tuition fee and books eat up the budget. I am thankful that I am living with my parents again since my rent money is channeled to school payments and heavy hardbound books.
2. Time management – Adjusting my body clock was a struggle. Here, the classes are in the evening which means I need to change my study habits from night time to day time. It’s kind of a problem because my “zone” moments are in the evening.
3. Relatives – Since I have been away for some time, they seem excited to see me and have long and winded conversations. I am happy to see them too but I’d rather read the commentaries or cases than chatter.
4. Friends – Same with relatives. The friends I made at law school are great because they are low maintenance but there are high school friends that need pampering and it just saps the energy out of me.
5. Savings – Becuase right now, I have none. I quit my part time jobs in favor of studying. So, my spending money is limited right now. However, I plan to work by next year when I have fully adjusted with my new school environment.
Despite the ups and more number of downs, my life right now is interesting. I met a lot of great people and that’s good. Since this is he last day of Christmas vacation, it’s time to rev up the study time and serious mode.

Leave a comment